Power of People, Food, Art and Architecture

It’s been a couple of crazy, fast-paced days in London. From some great food, to some once in a lifetime exhibits, to drinking beer with friends, this place has a lot to offer.

My first entry from London was left unfinished, but I’ll sum it up quickly. Alan and I were walking around my first night in London, when we happened upon Piccadilly Circus. Apparently, prior to us arriving there had been an actual circus of sorts, with high flying acrobats in angel costumes dropping feathers on the thousands of people filling the streets. When we got there the acrobats had all climbed to the stop of the Eros sculpture in the middle of Piccadilly Circus, and thousands of people were dancing in the biggest pile of feathers I have ever seen. It was pretty awesome, a great welcome party to London.

One of the things I was looking forward to the most by coming to London was the great modern art and architecture. Tuesday afternoon I went to the Damien Hirst exhibit at the Tate Modern. Hirst is known for coming up in the early ’90s for his spot paintings and use of animals suspended in formaldehyde. The works there included one I was most excited to see The Physical Impossibility of Death in the Mind of Someone Living. In the room which contained In and Out of Love (White Paintings and Live Butterflies), I was lucky enough to become a living part of the exhibit as I had two butterflies attach themselves to me. They had to be forcibly removed.

My friend Stephen “dragged” us to one of his most revered restaurants the other night, it’s called St. John. He forewarned us, they serve things like offal and other strange cuts of meat. There were four of us, we all shared, our dishes included things such as crispy pig’s cheek, bone marrow on toast, ox heart. Everything we had was delicious, thanks Stephen for making me try something new! Also while we were there, Alan spotted Andrew Lloyd Webber seated across from us. Dinner with one of London’s most renowned composers (think Phantom of the Opera)!

Lastly, yesterday I went to St. Paul’s cathedral for 5:00 mass. I am, by no means, a god worshiping person, but I couldn’t resist the opportunity to sit under the dome at St. Paul’s and listen to Evensong sung by the Choristers and Vicars choir. It was pretty powerful, and I was glad to put aside any sort of assumed denomination for 45 minutes of contemplation in such an amazing space.

A blog with pictures will come soon, I promise.

About jasonsedar

My final year of architecture school at the University of Calgary!
This entry was posted in London. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

