Pre-Departure

As a departure from the last few years, when I’ve been going to school in Calgary, this next semester will be spent on the other side of the Atlantic. EVDS has graciously organized an opportunity for students in their final year of the M.Arch program to travel to Barcelona and partake in a design studio course there. I’ll be with two dozen of my classmates from Calgary, soaking up every precious moment.

I’ll be using this blog (which has previously been used solely as a dumping ground for school assignments) to document my adventures, experiences, more school assignments of course, and whatever else I come across during my time in Europe. Hopefully, you can expect plenty of photos, videos, sketches, meaningful personal reflections, and fun personified, all more or less geared towards architecture.

To this point, my itinerary goes like this:

– Depart from Calgary International Airport, September 1 @ 2:30 p.m., arriving at London Heathrow, September 2 @ 10:30 a.m.

– In London for 8 nights, September 2 – 10.

– Depart from London Heathrow, September 10 @ 7 a.m., arriving at Barcelona-El Prat @ 10:30 a.m.

After that, things are still a bit up in the air. School is supposed to start on the 10th, (studio location here). My parents will be visiting Barcelona for 5 nights during La Merce. There has been talk amongst our group of possibly going to Ibiza for one night, obviously not to sleep. Plans have been made to attend Oktoberfest in Munich for two nights. I have registered for a week long course in the Netherlands, from October 8 – 12, the week following Oktoberfest. The only date set in stone seems to be my flight home, December 20 from London Heathrow to Vancouver International. Since my semester in Barcelona is supposed to end around the 5th or 6th of December, I figured I may as well travel to somewhere else afterwards, for the two weeks before I fly home. That destination is still TBD, but I’m leaning towards Istanbul.

Anyways, this entry was actually supposed to reflect more of my preparations and nervousness about traveling because I’ve never been to Europe, my Spanish is limited to hola amigo and gracias senorita, and it seems like there are far too many things left to check off my list of things to do before I go. One thing I have done is invest in a little accessory called the GorillaPod.

It’s a tripod with legs that you can wrap around or level with just about anything. It stands about 10″ high and I think it’s going to be a handy little tool to steady my pictures and assist in taking videos. For example, I took it out for a test run the other day, and wrapped it around the handlebars on my bike. Granted, it’s not the most entertaining youtube video making the rounds.

(This youtube video doesn’t seem to be working? Here’s the link: http://youtu.be/tmamVPNhqe0)

Alright, rather than sitting around and rambling on about the things I have to do before I leave, I should probably go do them. Actually, updating this blog was one of the things on my list, so good for me. Check!

I’ll be back either the day of departure, or after I arrive in London.

Adios!

About jasonsedar

My final year of architecture school at the University of Calgary!
This entry was posted in Barcelona, London, Netherlands. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

